Three-Year Blogiversary

I attended the Writer’s Digest Conference three years ago, with hopes of successfully pitching a book that I had written to some of the top literary agents in the country. One of the biggest pieces of feedback I received was that I needed to create a bigger social media platform, and that one of the best ways to do that was to begin blogging. I tried to explain that I didn’t have much to talk about, and even when I did, I’ve always had better success getting a response from myself in the mirror than from other people. (That was a joke, in case you were concerned…)

I created my blog and tried to incorporate as many interesting aspects as I possible could. Between poetry, posts on achieving happiness, traveling experiences, and daily journeys, I had hoped that I could maintain the interest of just a few fellow bloggers, or at least my mother. Well, here we are three years, over 500 followers, and 101 posts later. I couldn’t have made it this far without each and every one of you, and I truly mean it.

A little inspiration goes a long way and I was hoping to help inspire any and all followers that would be joining me on my blogging experience. Little did I realize though, that within these few years, my fellow bloggers would be the ones inspiring me. You have all inspired me through your blog posts, comments on my posts, pushes to continue writing, and especially through your encouragement and motivation to not only make me a better person and writer, but a better blogger as well. And to be quite honest, that is more than anything I could have ever imagined or asked for, and for that, on this three-year blogiversary, I’d like to celebrate with all of you.

I ask that you help me celebrate my blogiversary by commenting with the link to your blogs so that others can follow you all as well. My fellow bloggers have opened so many doors for me, so I’d like to try to help open at least one for you. And with that, I’d like to make a toast to my fellow bloggers for helping me make it this far and for welcoming me with open arms into the world of blogging. If you want to treat yourself to some cake or champagne, by all means help yourself so that we can really get the celebration going! (The best part of an online party is that I don’t have to supply the food or drinks and you don’t have to supply the presents!) I hope that this experience continues for years to come, especially so that I don’t have to go back to talking to myself in the mirror. (Again, a joke.)

2 comments on “Three-Year Blogiversary

  1. davidprosser says:

    Happy 3rd Blogaversary Dan. I’m glad you stuck with it. Having a Social Platform isn’t easy but it is oh so necessary. It’s taken me some time to form mine and get a balance that suits me. I just blog once a week unless I’m doing an interview for someone. Maybe you could do with a little exposure in that way. Even if you don’t have a book finished, you can talk about a work in progress. If you do have a book all the better.
    Other authors tend to be very supportive and I found a group called ASMSG to be fantastic at that. Anything you tweeted tended to be retweeted to over a million others. You’ll find them on Facebook and also if you google them I think.
    Here’s to the next 3 years and a lot more followers.
    All the best
    David
    http://barsetshirediaries.wordpress.com

    • danbalva says:

      Thank you so much for your constant support David! I’ll definitely look into ASMSG, because the more help I can get, the better! Thanks for sharing in this celebration!

Leave a Reply

