Half Marathon Training Weeks 9 and 10

The only good thing about the Half Marathon being less than two weeks away is the fact that the runs are getting smaller and smaller. The reason for this is so that I can recuperate quicker and ultimately be prepared for the big day. Week 9 has actually been one of my favorite weeks of running, not only since the distances are less than usual, but because it continues to boggle my mind thinking that I have been training for 9 weeks to reach a goal I had set for myself. In this week alone, I reached 22 miles and am anticipating the big day, which is now just one week away.

As I progress through week 10 of training, I’ll have run 26.1 miles by the end of the week, 13.1 of which will be completed at the half marathon! I keep wondering whether or not I’ll continue to run after the marathon and stick with the training, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and find out. The first step though, will be completing the marathon, which we can only hope actually happens.

A few days ago, I wrote about Mami Leo’s story of having started the orphanage on her own with only $2,700 to her name. She has managed to provide thousands of children with food, an education, and a home to call their own, but most importantly, she provided the children with love, which is something they never received before coming to Misioneros Del Camino. Over the past two years, Mami Leo’s health has been declining, but that hasn’t taken away from the love and care that these children still receive on a daily basis. When I last saw Mami Leo in November, I remember seeing her saying, “There is still more I need to do.” Together, we can help Mami Leo continue to fulfill her mission and help these children have the life they deserve.

The work that Mami Leo has done is what has been motivating me to train for this upcoming Sunday’s Half Marathon, and she is the reason why I continue returning to Guatemala year after year. If you would like to help contribute to this incredible cause so that we can carry out Mami Leo’s work, please feel free to click on the below link. And if you would like to learn more about Misioneros Del Camino, please feel free to clink on the bottom link. http://www.gofundme.com/h8kjvs http://www.misionerosdelcamino.org/index.php

Click on the pictures below to read the stories of each child

Leave a Reply

