Half Marathon Training Weeks 7 and 8

By the end of week 6, I noticed that my right ankle was hurting every time I put pressure on it. I took a few days off from running and began cycling instead. I was only able to run 9 miles throughout the week, which was less than I had run in just one day the week before. Nerves were beginning to course through my body, seeing as the race was only three weeks away. Normally I would never complain about being given an opportunity to take a break and relax, but this definitely wasn’t a good time for me to do so. Lucky for me, a week off from running was apparently all I needed, because when I ran for the first time during the beginning of week 8, I felt better than ever! I ran 28 miles throughout the week and completed my longest distance run of 11 miles without passing out. If you ask me, I’d say that’s a success. The young girl pictured below being carried on her mother’s back is Darlin. She is 4 yrs. old and has Cerebral Palsy. They live in a very poor village about 20 miles from the Neurological Center. To bring Darlin to therapy, her mother has to carry her daughter on her back to take a bus that leaves her about 5 kilometers from the Center, and then she walks the rest of the way with her daughter on her back. To return home she does this again. She has been doing this since 2011, to help her daughter. Darlin has made fantastic progress! She is starting to take her first steps and is saying a few words. Hers is a long road, but there is hope. A few short years ago she would not had any hope and no access to help. These are the people who Misioneros Del Camino are helping – children who would normally have no access to help and parents who love their children but are too poor or isolated to get help for them. Stories like that of Darlin and her incredible mother are what have been motivating me to train for this upcoming Sunday’s Half Marathon, and they are the reason why I continue returning to Guatemala year after year. If you would like to help contribute to this incredible cause so that more children like Darlin can be helped, please feel free to click on the below link. And if you would like to learn more about Misioneros Del Camino, please feel free to clink on the bottom link. http://www.gofundme.com/h8kjvs http://www.misionerosdelcamino.org/index.php

Darlin and Her Mother

Darlin and Her Mother

Leave a Reply

