Blink of An Eye

A short while ago, a family friend passed away from what doctors believe was a heart attack. It was quite the shock, and as we are still coping with the loss of a loved one, I wrote something in his honor, which I hope you all will enjoy.

Life can cease in the blink of an eye,
Just a few breaths too little, and then you die.
Feelings are empty, emotions are lost; the world is scary and cold.
Everything is gone but my love for you, I will always hold.

We often lose track of the beauties close at hand,
That once our life has ended, it will all just be bland.
One blink only, and your whole world can change,
It will never be the same, for it will all feel so strange.

Your world is not over, it is nowhere near done,
There is so much ahead; life has barely begun.
Do not fret though, for an angel is always near,
Your loved one is forever wathcing over; this, I promise you dear.

24 comments on “Blink of An Eye

  1. Robin S. Balva says:

    Joe is our angel!!!!

  2. soumyav says:

    A sincere beautiful tribute!

  3. A beautiful tribute to your friend who is now embarking upon their next journey. I think if we could all live our moments as if they were our last we would have a more beautiful world.
    Your poetry echoes that which we should all be aware of as we live each moment. Treasure the moments! For we all do not know when our last ones will come
    Blessings
    Sue x

  4. Bob says:

    Peace and love my friend

  5. Wishing you comfort, peace and strength. Hugs. My heart goes out to you.

  6. LuAnn says:

    I am sorry for your loss. You wrote a beautiful tribute to your friend.

  7. Sorry for your loss – the poem is a nice tribute to your loved one.

  8. Insight says:

    Awesome in all respects, bro!\m/ πŸ™‚

    Rahul

  9. I’m sorry for your lost. Thank you for sharing this beautiful tribute.

  10. Sorry for your loss. How wonderful that you can express your grief through your gift of writing. I’ve got my funeral mostly planned and you’ve given me an idea of something I missed– a tribute for those left behind? Is that too weird?

    • danbalva says:

      Thanks for your kind words Dr. Young! I think it’s a great idea. You can never over-express your appreciation for those you love, so I think your idea is an awesome one πŸ™‚

  11. My sympathies for your loss.

  12. Nahed Omer says:

    My sympathies for your loss, u have to overcome your sorrow.

    I went through the same experience when my dad passed away.

    The memories of those who left us will be in our hearts and minds.

    Remember one fact that we are all guests in this life.

    β€œLife is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.”
    Albert Einstein.

Leave a Reply

