Give Thanks On This 5th of July!

As many of you are aware, yesterday was the fourth of July; a day dedicated to our country’s independence; a day in which we give thanks to the heroes of country; and a day in which we honor those who sacrificed their lives for us to be where we are today. Throughout the country, people wished each other a happy holiday and gave well wishes to one another, myself included. But once midnight struck and the holiday came to an end, that was that. Now we wait until next year where we will follow the same routine and celebrate once more.

Why is it that there is only one day designated to thanking brave souls for their hard work and dedication to our country? Why is it that we only have one day to recognize our teachers, secretaries, mothers, fathers, veterans, presidents (well that’s a different story), etc. Why do the people who work so hard and do so much for us only get one measly day to themselves? I guess one day is better than none, but what happens when that day is over? We forget about appreciating the important people in life and move on with our daily lives. Today is not a holiday, at least none that I’m aware of, so I’d like to take appreciate those who work so hard on a daily basis but never get the spotlight and attention they deserve, thank family members because one day to thank my parents and grandparents for everything they have done for me surely isn’t enough, and I’m sure for those of you with kids, they feel the same, and thank everyone else who has made some sort of impact in my life.

I know I’m not winning an Academy Award over here, so these thanks may seem a bit dramatic, but smiles are contagious, and so is appreciation. If we can appreciate the little things in life as well as all that we have, you’ll find that life will become so much greater than it already is. Say “thank you” to the people who got you to where you are today, to the waiter who serves you, to the masseuse who has the courage to touch your feet, to the ones you love for being there for you. A simple “thanks” will go a long way in life and will definitely put a smile on the faces of the person you are appreciating. Try it and you’ll notice the immense ripple effect it will have, and the positive impact it will have on that person’s day. So I’d like to start off by saying Thanks! to all my followers and friends here on WordPress who have made my blogging experience amazing thus far. I wouldn’t be able to feel as though I am making some kind of difference without you all, and I wouldn’t have met such incredibly inspirational people and friends, and for that, I thank you all! 🙂

11 comments on “Give Thanks On This 5th of July!

  1. I agree. Sometimes a thank you can get you a long way. I also think making eye contact with those people you come in to contact with on daily basis is important as well. It lets people know you care what they are saying to you. They are also a lot more likely to smile back at you if you are looking them in the eye. Great post!

  2. aycox79 says:

    I agree so much with you Jessica. Danbalva great blog and thankyou does go along way and I also thank the lord above everyday most of all for all he has done for each of us from the heart, From my heart I thank him. I also thankyou from my heart for giving us your great words of knowledge and aspire words. I love your blog and plan on checking back in off and on.

    • danbalva says:

      I couldn’t agree more with you Jon’te! And thank you for your kind words! It truly means a lot and I look forward to reading your blog more often now as well!!

  3. erinambrose says:

    Amen and amen!! We should never be stingy with our thanks. It costs us nothing and makes a world of difference to the person who receives it. Thank YOU for calling our attention to it! 🙂

  4. Hi! Thank you for checking out my blog site and following, I just returned the favor so I could get to know more about you. All the best!
    Cheers,
    Cynthia

  5. A smile costs us nothing Dan, and as you say a smile is contagious, Lets start a new epidemic shall we… Lets call it Smile Day.. Every Day!.. 😀 I always smile, even at strangers, you know you can get the oddest of looks, as they frown and think ‘ Do I know you’ with a puzzled look upon their faces, But nearly always the smile back… And yet many now hide beneath hats and hoods not wanting to meet the gaze of another’s eyes. We have become so distrusting of each other within this material world, thinking someone is out to get something over on us or take something away. We lock our doors, and have become trapped within our own fears of loosing our Material possessions.. We have put possessions before People.

    You are so right with what you have said… Why do we not continue with our Good Wishes and that ‘Feel-Good- Factor’ after the Holidays, its the same at Christmas time too.. Everyone in Good Spirits for a few short days as we wish each other Happy Greetings…

    I am so pleased you dropped by Dreamwalker’s.. The world is in need of Youth of your understanding.. And you have much to teach within your own words of wisdom Dan..
    Blessings~ Sue

    • danbalva says:

      I couldn’t agree more! I’m a huge proponent of the Smile Every Day epidemic, and I’m right by your side on that one! Smiling at people doesn’t always end well considering that some give us strange looks in return, but for the few who smile back, that’s when we know it’s worth it. You have a great outlook on things, and I’m so glad to have found your blog!

  6. There’s also Memorial Day, and Veteran’s Day, I suppose….but you’re right, we need to think about them much, much more often!

Leave a Reply

