What Will I Be Remembered For?

Alright, I’m going to be blunt here and say what no one wants to hear. We’re all going to pass away one day, and when that happens, there’s nothing left we can do. Hmm; it seems pretty obvious, huh? Well, here’s the catch… You have to read in between the lines to really understand what I’m getting at. 

If you want to leave a legacy behind, or make a difference in the world, you had better start now. We only have one shot here on earth, and in the game of life, there are no re-dos and no second chances. Yes, we will make mistakes and we will make them quite often, but this is the real deal. When people look back on your life after you pass away, no one will remember how big your flatscreen T.V. was, how many features your new car had, or how extravagent your house was. All of those “things” will be insignificant because people will only remember you for what you leave behind (and no, not the materialistic things you pass on to others).

Don’t get me wrong here, of course having a flatscreen T.V. will come in handy when watching the next big game, a great car will provide for smooth riding, and your dream-house will be of great comfort, but these aren’t the things that make life great and what shape the future. Making a differece in the community, going out and helping others, impacting generations to come, bringing joy and happiness to everyone around you; those will be the things that people remember you for.

Think of it this way: if you were to be looking down at your funeral procession, what would you want people to be saying about you? And for those who think this is meant to be a gloomy post (which I promise it isn’t), think about it like this, instead: if you were to be honored by your community for making a positive impact, what would you want to be honored for?

One person is all is takes to make a difference. And if you, yourself can help one person and one person only, you’ll have known that you made all the difference in the world. (Of course, we would all like to help as many people as possible, but even if it’s one single person,  you will still have made a positive impact). I hope I left you all with some food for thought today, and remember, you could be that one person! Have a great weekend 🙂

23 comments on “What Will I Be Remembered For?

  1. Rachel cole says:

    Love this:)

  2. I recently started blogging with hopes that I could help just one person. I hope I am accomplishing that!

    • danbalva says:

      I recently started following your blog, and it has been quite inspiring!! I definitely think you accomplished your goal, as you have a very motivational story that you’re sharing! 🙂

  3. dogear6 says:

    I believe I will remembered by the all the people that I mentored and taught along the way, not only had to get their work done but how to live life.

    My grandmothers were ordinary women, but they shaped for good the generations that came after them. That’s the best legacy of all.

    Nancy

  4. Gary Lum says:

    I know people will remember me. I’m more concerned that I live a life that doesn’t hurt anyone.

  5. Food Forays says:

    I’m not sure how I will remembered, but I do the best I can to help others. I volunteer a lot, and I write, and ideally someone out there has benefitted from things I’ve done… I’m much like Gary though. I follow the “Golden Rule” as best I can… “Do unto others as you would have others do unto you”.
    As always, really enjoyed your post!

  6. living4bliss says:

    I just want to be remembered for spreading a little bliss.

  7. Jane Thorne says:

    Dan a great post and also I have passed the 7×7 Link Award on to you as you deserve the recognition – here’s the link http://wp.me/p1l7Si-yR – Jane x

  8. I believe you have inspired more than one person, there are 8 individuals here commenting for a start 🙂

    A lovely post to end the week that was.

  9. Subhan Zein says:

    This is a great reminder, thanks for your post! 🙂

    One of the questions I often ask to myself is, “Where do you see yourself in 5 years? In 10 years? In 15 years? in 20 years?” That way I have always goals in mind to accomplish, ensuring to leave a legacy behind.

    Yet this is not to undermine the character-building we always need to strive for, the idea of becoming a great person who spreads the joy to others. People will often forget what you do or ther accomplishments you have made. But they will never forget how you make them feel. 🙂

    Subhan Zein

  10. Well said. Begin with the end in view. What legacy would you like to leave behind? What do you want others to say about you at your funeral? Start working to become the person you want to be.

Leave a Reply

