Nursery Rhyme Conspiracy Theory

Since Spring Break has arrived (at least here at the University of Central Florida), I decided to post something fun and mood-lightening. Hope you all enjoy it and have a great remainder of the weekend 🙂

Mother Goose told a lie, for she’s really a hen,
She did this to attract the attention of men.
Humpty Dumpty didn’t fall off of that ledge,
He was frightened by a gardener, mowing a hedge.

Peter Piper didn’t choose to pick the pickled peppers,
He was threatened by a group of big dancing steppers.
The ants march together, and reside on their hill.
Not one by one, though; it was just a fire drill.

Working on the railroad was a mere second job,
Suggested by my unemployment clerk; his name was Bob.
The eencey weencey spider had no encounter with the rain,
He was evicted from his household web for being such a pain.

Little Bo Peep didn’t really lose her sheep,
She was tired from partying, and just fell asleep.
Jack didn’t fall as he tumbled down the hill,
He had a girlfriend on the side, and was pushed by Jill.

Everyone has stories to cover up their flaws,
But when the truth is revealed, you need a moment’s pause.
Don’t be naïve and believe all that you hear,
Because without both sides, the story’s never clear.

N

22 comments on “Nursery Rhyme Conspiracy Theory

  1. Vina Kent says:

    Reblogged this on .

  2. Robin S. Balva says:

    I absolutely love this poem!!!!!

  3. I love this poem, very cute 🙂

  4. LOVE this, made me chuckle 🙂

  5. living4bliss says:

    This is really cute.

  6. Judy says:

    Wonderful and fun!

  7. Lisa at fLVE says:

    have a great spring break. 🙂

  8. What a delight, I read this and had a little chuckle, I’m doing a lot of reading nursery rhymes out loud at the moment to my first little granddaughter of 19 months.. so this really hit the spot with me Dan.. Great Poem laced with humour.. ~Sue

  9. Hi Dan,

    What a great poem. I write poems myself for friends and family, and grew up with a mom who used to write poems for me. Good luck on all your ventures, the sky is your limit.

  10. Hi Dan,

    This is great, I really enjoyed it! 🙂 Thanks so much for following me, too and I will do the same!
    Lauren

  11. I had my chuckle for the day! A little laugh and a little truth to start off my week! Blessings – Patty

  12. This is brilliant! I remember hearing these nursey rhymes as a child. Now I will look back on them from a different perspective…

Leave a Reply

