Try It With A Smile And You Just Might Make A Friend

In sixth grade, one of the elective classes we were required to take was theatre, and on the first day of class, we talked about the power of emotions. We were given a homework assignment that would show us how emotions are able to affect certain situations. The task was simple. When you’re at home and the phone rings, pick it up with a mad expression on your face, and carry out the conversation. Then the next time the phone rings, carry out the conversation with a happy expression on your face.

I kept the house phone with me once I got back home from school, and the first phone call I received was from my mom’s friend. She called to speak to my mom, but she wasn’t home. She then proceeded to ask if everything was okay, and I said yes and asked why. She told me that I sounded very angry, so I told her everything was alright and that was that. Shortly after hanging up, the phone rang again, and I picked up with a happy expression on my face. My grandma was calling to see how school was, and asked if I had done well on any recent tests. I explained that I hadn’t yet received any of my grades, but she thought that I had, since I sounded cheerful.

If you work on having a friendly, positive attitude with those you know, those who you are friends with, or those you are acquainted with, for the most part, others will mirror the same friendly, positive attitude right back to you. I’m not saying that being friendly will woo everyone in your path, but it’s bound to work on at least one person, and who knows, that one person might end up becoming a new friend.

11 comments on “Try It With A Smile And You Just Might Make A Friend

  1. Gabby Angel says:

    This was such a wonderful post Dan! 🙂 I so agree with you on being positive and friendly, it really does work…Most of the time anyway! I loved hearing about your phone assigment homework, too! 🙂

  2. iamnotshe says:

    Oh God, i just re-nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award. You are a new “find” for me, so you are officially renominated. Please see http://iamnotshe.wordpress.com for instructions on accepting (if you chose)! xoxo melis

  3. dogear6 says:

    Years ago, I’d noticed the same thing on the phone. If I smiled and had postive body language as though they were seeing me, I got the best response! I try to make sure to do that even when I’m in a grumpy mood.

    Did I thank you for subscribing to my blog? I don’t think I did – thanks! I appreciate it.

    Nancy

  4. Bob says:

    Excellent advice, a positive attitude towards life is often the best way to meet new friends.

  5. Eric Alagan says:

    Smiling is free and never runs out – rich rewards. Thank you for this positivity.

  6. […] some interesting thoughts on how your attitude can impact others, check out this interesting post at hurdestohappiness.  I have a comment further down on how I smile into the phone as I talk and how I think it makes […]

Leave a Reply

