Still Waiting

This morning I received a phone call from a man who works for a self-publication company. He called to ask what the progress was regarding my luck with the literary agents I had met at the NYC Writers Digest Conference a few weeks ago. Since I have always wanted to be traditionally published, as opposed to self-published, I told him that things were going great. He then proceeded to tell me the statistics about traditional published and explained that the odds of me being published through a publication company with a literary agent are slim to none. What a great way to start the day off, right?

As the conversation progressed, he asked how my platform was going since the conference. Hmm, I thought to myself. I quickly exclaimed, “Well, I now have a blog and a Twitter account, so my social media platform is starting to take off. “How many followers do you have and how many views do you receive each day?” Oh geez. Did I really have to answer this question. I try my best to promote my blog and Twitter account, but let’s face it. Some days are better than others. One day I had over 150 views! Other days I only receive about 5 views, and I’m convinced that all the views are just from me refreshing the page to see if I have any new comments. The only other thing I can think of is passing out flyers on the street, and if that doesn’t work, I guess it’s time to whip out the sign that says, “Will work for blog followers, views, and Twitter followers.”

Forgetting about my platform for a minute (which most, if not all literary agents would smack me across the face with their newest represented book if they ever heard me say something like that), it has been nearly three weeks now since I sent out my manuscript and proposal to the various agents I met at the New York City Writers Digest Conference last month. And here I am; still waiting. I check my email more often than one could imagine, hoping that something exciting (such as an agent to represent me) will pop up in my inbox. Until then however, I guess it’s time for me to do one of two things. I’ll either have to start increasing my blog views, gain more followers, and do a better job marketing myself, or I’ll have to look for a cardboard sign, and get to work on that.

In the meantime, who knows what will happen with the progress of my book? All I can say is, I’ll hope for the best, and in a month, I’ll be receiving another phone call from the self-publishing company, so I’d better get to work on this platform thing!

33 comments on “Still Waiting

  1. I feel you, and I’m in the trenches with you.

  2. Good things come to those who

    Work hard. Sounds like you are hitting it hard. I have a theory: there is a certain number of rejection letters I need before publication. Say 543 or 1298. I just need to keep on keeping on. Right? I will say I am done trying to shop poetry, though it does seem to pad my rejection numbers.

    Don’t give up. Just don’t.

    Peace, jen

    • danbalva says:

      Thanks Jen, I really appreciate it! I completely agree, it’s just tough to get so many rejection letters. However, although it’s hard to look past the No’s, it’s good motivation to try even harder 🙂

      • sometimes I think I should just wallpaper a chair with them, or an old typewriter or….

        Make them useful, you know? I should do that. It would be a reminder that I am not done yet….

        Peace, Jen

      • danbalva says:

        Tell me about it! I constantly think of hanging up rejection letters in my room, with hopes that one day soon, I can finally hang up an acceptance letter, stating that someone wants to represent my works.

  3. renxkyoko says:

    Your own blog views will not be counted. The figures in your stats are those of your readers’.

    Don’t give up. JK Rowling didn’t.

    Cheers.

  4. Lisa at fLVE says:

    Keep on going..you can do this! 🙂

  5. susielindau says:

    Keep doing what you are doing and read and comment on others and some will reciprocate! The first couple of months here, I had a flat line of views so hang in there.

  6. While you are at it, I intend to self-publish my book (for many reasons: namely control issues 🙂
    Would you mind sharing the name of the company that keeps contacting you? You can email me directly from my blog.
    I enjoy your writing and urge you to persist!

    • danbalva says:

      Thanks Jen! I really appreciate it, and have definitely been able to make it thus far with my blogging experience due to such great supporters like yourself! 🙂

  7. I just started reading your blog and I have complete faith you will get yourself published.
    I have nominated you for the 7×7 Link Award. Please see the following link for more information http://findingmyworth.wordpress.com/award-nominations/7×7-award/

  8. Woo Hoo! Link 7×7 is the COOLEST award! You really get to highlight your best writing and then hand it off to others who have not been awarded yet. Congratulations!!!!

    See? It is working in the way that it is! Don’t stop…

    Peace, jen

  9. All the best to you – am on the same rocky road myself! Keep going, don´t give up!

  10. dogear6 says:

    I appreciate your honesty in sharing this. I’m trying hard to ignore my stats – they don’t indicate the satisfaction I’m getting by publishing my thoughts and writings nor the loyalty of my subscribers. I may not have many subscribers, but they are very loyal to leave me comments on every post. That has value too.

    Nancy

    • danbalva says:

      I couldn’t agree more Nancy!

    • Nancy. I have read that only 1% of people are actively commenting on a blog at any given moment. The stats don’t actually show how many people read. That RSS feed thingy (whatever it is) accounts for most traffic and (according to my husband the computer genius guy) those stats don’t show up unless you pay extra.

      I am finding, like you, that I am enjoying the process and the writing and making new ‘friends’. That is worth so much!

      Just my 2 cents…

      XO Jen

      • dogear6 says:

        Ya’ know, I can write this here because my co-worker doesn’t read this blog (I don’t think). He was Freshly Pressed last year, on a Friday no less, and had thousands of hits by the time it was done. That’s how i found out he had a blog! I had no idea otherwise.

        But now, six months later, he can go quite a few posts with no one “liking” it or posting a comment. I get comments on every post I put out there. My readers are incredibly loyal with that. How can I not find a deep satisfaction with a robust group of people who support my work? That’s far more important than how many subscribers I have or how many time it’s been viewed.

        Nancy

      • dogear6 says:

        And thanks Jen! You’re one of my supporters too.

  11. Gabby Angel says:

    I know the rejection letters are hard to take.Dan, I am with these kind readers who left you comments…Keep going and don’t give up! You are destined for success, I really have a good feeling about it. I will also be praying for you, that also helps! 🙂

  12. Dan, I don’t believe it is the number of hits or how many unique views you get that will launch you into the publishing world. Continue to use your blog as you have been doing – a personal journey. I have found there is a tremendous connection through humility.
    Rejection letters (no matter how difficult to read) are simply that, nothing else can be or should be read into them. Unless there is one that is particularly inspiring, which will help to motivate you further, I would acknowledge them & put them away. Have trust & faith in yourself & know that you are where you are supposed to be at any given time. You are a talented & inspired individual, don’t lose sight of that. And remember Dan, success comes in many guises, your talents may be called upon elsewhere. Keep pursuing your dream but do not close the door on other opportunities 🙂 Support & best wishes Sharon

  13. You are more than Welcome Dan. Your blog is inspiring & you are reaching many more people than you may realise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

