Sending Out Manuscripts

As soon as I woke up this morning and got out of bed, I immediately spotted the seven business cards given to me by each of the literary agents at the writer’s conference this past weekend, all hung up on my wall. I knew there was only one thing to do, and that was to email each of them and send whatever additional information they had requested. I emailed out query letters, proposals, sample chapters, and my completed manuscript, and now there’s only one thing left to do. As much as I hate saying it, all that’s left to do is wait; wait for a response; wait for follow-up questions; wait for a yes; wait for a no. I can’t guarantee any answers from the prospective agents, but seeing as I have spent the last two months querying agents and waiting, this should be nothing new to me. Until I hear back from any of them, I’ll keep my fingers crossed, and begin uploading new blog posts relating to the Happiness and self-help aspect of this blog. As for now, whoever you are out there reading this blog, have a good night. Until tomorrow…

2 comments on “Sending Out Manuscripts

  1. OH Can I relate! I went to the University of Iowa for the Writers Workshop. ALL of us were making treks to the post office in the middle of town to send our ‘babies’ off, hoping to hear YES.

    We would sit in the writers bar and bemoan the rejection slips all the while slamming each others work. It was awful

    I moved on and continued to write. I discovered a way that works for me:

    each rejection slip brings me one step closer to YES. I figure there is a NUMBER out there: 93, 235, 1987… some number of rejection slips I need to collect before YES comes knocking. Now each rejection (I don’t send out much now. Being a Mom is the prime directive at this point in my life) Each rejection letter is a jewel bringing me closer… Once I changed my attitude, I was surprised to be getting personal rejections saying “don’t stop. you are very close…” My writing became more personal and that works for me.

    I surround myself now with talented writers with no axe to grind and constructive feedback.

    I SO get this.

    Good Luck!!!!

    Peace, Jen

    • danbalva says:

      Thanks Jen! It’s nice to speak with someone who has been in a similar situation. Rejection letters are pretty difficult to accept, but I completely agree that it is the right motivation to get me wanting to work harder. And like you said, I know it’s the next stepping stone before hearing a YES. Thanks for the advice and inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

